[]
[]
Search is retrieving incomplete results, please contact your local library for help searching.  
This catalog allows you to contribute Reviews, Ratings, Lists, Tags, and organize your library items using Shelves. All of these features are visible to other users by default. Don't want to share? Make Lists private when you create or edit them, make Tags personal when adding them, set Shelf settings to private from 'My Settings' > 'Privacy'Your library borrowing activity - items you browse, check out, place on hold, return, etc. - remains confidential in accordance with the KCLS Privacy policy.
Learn more about adding ratings, comments and other content to the new catalog.

KCLS Recommends: Children's - Judy Moody Read-Alikes

Alice-Miranda at School
Alice-Miranda at School By Harvey, Jacqueline (Book - 2011 ) J HARVEY Available in some locations

Annotation:Resourceful seven-and-one-quarter-year-old Alice-Miranda finds her new boarding school to be a very curious establishment with no flowers in the gardens, a headmistress that has not been seen for years, and a mysterious stranger who seems to be hiding out on the premises. Ages 8-10. J Harvey

Amber Brown Is Not A Crayon
Amber Brown Is Not A Crayon By Danziger, Paula, 1944-2004 (Book - 2006 ) J DANZIGER AMBERBROWN Available in some locations

Annotation:Amber Brown's relationship with Justin Daniels, her best friend forever, is threatened when Justin has to move to Alabama.

Bink & Gollie
Bink & Gollie By DiCamillo, Kate (Book - 2010 ) J DICAMILLO Available in some locations Holds: 3 on 71 copies

Annotation:Two roller-skating best friends--one tiny, one tall--share three comical adventures involving outrageously bright socks, an impromptu trek to the Andes, and a most unlikely marvelous companion.

Cinderella Smith
Cinderella Smith By Barden, Stephanie (Book - 2011 ) J BARDEN Available in some locations Holds: 2 on 21 copies

Annotation:Cast off by her old friends, Cinderella agrees to help a new student deal with the stepsisters she will soon have, and meantime, a former friend tries to prevent Cinderella from dancing the lead in their tap recital.

Clarice Bean, Don't Look Now
Clarice Bean, Don't Look Now By Child, Lauren (Book - 2008 ) J CHILD Available in some locations

Annotation:Studying her Ruby Redfort Survival Handbook, Clarice Bean ponders her worst worries while forgetting that "the worry you haven't even thought to worry about...is the worry that should worry you the most."

Clementine
Clementine By Pennypacker, Sara, 1951- (Book - 2008 ) J PENNYPACKER Available in some locations Holds: 1 on 92 copies

Annotation:Armed with attitude, individuality, and a penchant for disaster, Clementine, a wonderfully wacky girl who is the inventor of the world's first pair of bologna glasses, makes her first appearance in this hilarious chapter book.

Dessert First
Dessert First By Durand, Hallie (Book - 2009 ) J DURAND Available in some locations

Annotation:Determined to live a completely unique life without any rules to bog down her creative spirit, Dessert ends up getting in trouble more often than she would like, especially when she won't say sorry for anything she does wrong!

Gooney Bird Greene
Gooney Bird Greene By Lowry, Lois (Book - 2002 ) J LOWRY Available in some locations Holds: 1 on 24 copies

Annotation:From the moment Gooney Bird Greene arrives at Watertower Elementary School, her fellow second-graders are intrigued by her unique sense of style, fascinating stories, and unusual lunches.

Happily Ever After
Happily Ever After By Quindlen, Anna (Book - 1999 ) J QUINDLEN Available in some locations

Annotation:When Kate, who loves to read fairy tales, is transported back to medieval times, she finds that the life of a princess in a castle is less fun than she imagined.

Have Fun, Anna Hibiscus!
Have Fun, Anna Hibiscus! By Atinuke (Book - 2011 ) J ATINUKE Available in some locations Holds: 2 on 15 copies

Annotation:Raised by her extended family in Africa, Anna Hibiscus travels to Canada and has her first joyful experience of snow, makes new friends and celebrates Christmas with her grandmother.

Heidi Heckelbeck Goes to Camp!
Heidi Heckelbeck Goes to Camp! By Coven, Wanda (Book - 2013 ) J COVEN Available in some locations Holds: 1 on 14 copies

Annotation:Heidi is excited about spending two weeks with Lucy at Camp Dakota, but Lucy's friends from last year ignore Heidi and make her feel unwelcome, leading Heidi to cast a friendship spell on them.

In Aunt Lucy's Kitchen
In Aunt Lucy's Kitchen By Rylant, Cynthia (Book - 1998 ) J RYLANT Available in some locations

Annotation:While staying with their aunt for a year, three nine-year-old cousins keep busy baking and selling cookies, putting on a poetry and singing performance, and trying to encourage a romance between their aunt and one of their former customers.

Ivy and Bean
Ivy and Bean No News Is Good News By Barrows, Annie (Book - 2011 ) J BARROWS Available in some locations Holds: 1 on 83 copies

Annotation:Ivy and Bean try to make money by writing a newspaper about Pancake Court but the neighbors are not pleased to read about themselves.

Just Grace, Star on Stage
Just Grace, Star on Stage By Harper, Charise Mericle (Book - 2012 ) J HARPER Available in some locations

Annotation:In this ninth installment of the hilarious Just Grace series, third-grader Grace desperately wants the starring role as Fairy Queen in her class play, but alas, it is not to be.

Kay Thompson's Eloise in Paris
Kay Thompson's Eloise in Paris By Thompson, Kay, 1909-1998 (Book - 1999 ) J THOMPSON Available in some locations Holds: 1 on 26 copies

Annotation:The talkative and precocious Eloise visits Paris with her nanny and turns the City of Lights upside down in this second book in the Eloise series.

Lady Lollipop
Lady Lollipop By King-Smith, Dick (Book - 2003 ) J KING-SMITH Available in some locations

Annotation:A quick-witted swineherd and his pig named Lollipop are royally rewarded after they reform a spoiled princess.

Lulu and the Duck in the Park
Lulu and the Duck in the Park By McKay, Hilary (Book - 2012 ) J MCKAY Available in some locations Holds: 1 on 21 copies

Annotation:Lulu, who loves animals, brings an abandoned duck egg to school, even though her teacher has forbidden her from bringing animals to school ever again.

Lulu Walks the Dogs
Lulu Walks the Dogs By Viorst, Judith (Book - 2012 ) J VIORST Available in some locations

Annotation:The stubbornly hilarious Lulu has decided it’s time to buckle down and earn some cash and so she opens a dog walking service in her neighborhood.

Make Way for Dyamonde Daniel
Make Way for Dyamonde Daniel By Grimes, Nikki (Book - 2009 ) J GRIMES Available in some locations Holds: 2 on 0 copies

Annotation:Dyamonde Daniel may be new in town, but with her can-do attitude and awesome brain power she takes the whole neighborhood by storm.

Moxy Maxwell Does Not Love Stuart Little
Moxy Maxwell Does Not Love Stuart Little By Gifford, Peggy Elizabeth (Book - 2007 ) J GIFFORD Available in some locations Holds: 1 on 30 copies

Annotation:With summer coming to an end, about-to-be-fourth-grader Moxy Maxwell does a hundred different things to avoid reading her assigned summer reading book.

Only Emma
Only Emma By Warner, Sally (Book - 2005 ) J WARNER Available in some locations

Annotation:Third-grader Emma's peaceful life as an only child is disrupted when she has to temporarily share her tidy bedroom with four-year-old Anthony Scarpetto, a bona fide "pain in the patootie."

Ottoline Goes to School
Ottoline Goes to School By Riddell, Chris (Book - 2009 ) J RIDDELL Available in some locations

Annotation:Ottoline and Mr. Munroe, her very helpful dog, enroll in the Alice B. Smith School for the Differently Gifted and while Ottoline worries that she may not have a special gift, Mr. Munro worries about the ghost that is said to haunt the school at night.

Penelope Crumb
Penelope Crumb By Stout, Shawn K. (Book - 2012 ) J STOUT Available in some locations

Annotation:Fourth-grader Penelope Crumb's large nose leads to a family discovery.

Piper Reed, Navy Brat
Piper Reed, Navy Brat By Holt, Kimberly Willis (Book - 2007 ) J HOLT Available in some locations

Annotation:Piper is sad about leaving her home and friends behind when her father, a Navy aircraft mechanic, is transferred yet again, but with help from her often-annoying sisters and a surprise from their parents, she finds happiness in their new home in Pensacola, Florida.

Ramona's World
Ramona's World By Cleary, Beverly (Book - 2006 ) J CLEARY Available in some locations Holds: 2 on 63 copies

Annotation:Follows the adventures of nine-year-old Ramona at home with big sister Beezus and baby sister Roberta, and at school in Mrs. Meacham's class.

Roxie and the Hooligans
Roxie and the Hooligans By Naylor, Phyllis Reynolds (Book - 2006 ) J NAYLOR Available in some locations

Annotation:Roxie Warbler, the niece of a famous explorer, follows Uncle Dangerfoot's advice on how to survive any crisis when she becomes stranded on an island with a gang of school bullies and a pair of murderous bank robbers.

Sassy
Sassy The Dazzle Disaster Dinner Party By Draper, Sharon M. (Book - 2010 ) J DRAPER Available in some locations

Annotation:Sassy Simone Sanford plans a fabulous dinner party for her fourth grade class, but it turns into a recipe for disaster when her dog eats the food, her friends make a mess, and the new girl in school is missing.

Something's Fishy
Something's Fishy By Krulik, Nancy E. (Book - 2007 ) J KATIEKAZOO SWITCHEROO V.26 Available in some locations

Annotation:On a field trip to an aquarium, fourth-grader Katie is changed into a clownfish just after Ms. Sweet has dropped her brand-new engagement ring into a fish tank.

Sophie the Awesome
Sophie the Awesome By Bergen, Lara, 1955- (Book - 2010 ) J SOPHIE Available in some locations

Annotation:Sophie feels average, but wants to stand out from the crowd, so she changes her name to Sophie the Awesome and tries to find something to prove she is awesome.

Stella Batts Needs A New Name
Stella Batts Needs A New Name By Sheinmel, Courtney (Book - 2012 ) J SHEINMEL Available in some locations

Annotation:When a classmate makes fun of her name, eight-year-old Stella picks a new one for herself, but discovers that the name she abandoned suits her just fine.

Ukulele Hayley
Ukulele Hayley By Cox, Judy (Book - 2013 ) J COX Available in some locations

Annotation:Discovering her talent for playing the ukulele then forming a band at school, Hayley is dismayed to learn that her school's music program is about to be cut and devises a plan to save both the program and her music teacher, in a story complemented by basic instructions on how to play the ukulele.

The Year of the Dog
The Year of the Dog A Novel By Lin, Grace (Book - 2006 ) J LIN Available in some locations Holds: 1 on 54 copies

Annotation:Frustrated at her seeming lack of talent for anything, a young Taiwanese American girl sets out to apply the lessons of the Chinese Year of the Dog, those of making best friends and finding oneself, to her own life.


English
Topic Guide

Powered by BiblioCommons.