[]
[]
Learn more about adding ratings, comments and other content to the new catalog.

KCLS Recommends: Children's - Diary of a Wimpy Kid Read-Alikes

Alvin Ho
Alvin Ho Allergic to Dead Bodies, Funerals, and Other Fatal Circumstances By Look, Lenore (Book - 2011 ) J LOOK Available in some locations Holds: 2 on 23 copies

Annotation:A fearful second grader in Concord, Massachusetts, learns about death when his grandfather's best friend dies and he offers to accompany his grandfather to the funeral. Ages 6-9

Big Nate
Big Nate In A Class by Himself By Peirce, Lincoln (Book - 2010 ) J PEIRCE Available in some locations Holds: 1 on 82 copies

Annotation:Supremely confident middle-school student Nate Wright manages to make getting detention from every one of his teachers in the same day seem like an achievement. Ages 9-12

Charlie Joe Jackson's Guide to Extra Credit
Charlie Joe Jackson's Guide to Extra Credit By Greenwald, Tom (Book - 2012 ) J GREENWALD Available in some locations Holds: 3 on 26 copies

Annotation:Bright but unenthusiastic middle school student Charlie Joe Jackson signs up for the school play in an attempt to get straight A's on his last quarter report card and avoid having to go to Camp Rituhbukkee over the summer. Age 9-12

Clarice Bean, Don't Look Now
Clarice Bean, Don't Look Now By Child, Lauren (Book - 2008 ) J CHILD Available in some locations Holds: 1 on 31 copies

Annotation:When her best friend announces that she is moving away, Clarice Bean has a new entry for her "Worry" journal and hopes that something will happen to change things back to the way they were. Ages 7-10

Clueless McGee
Clueless McGee By Mack, Jeff (Book - 2012 ) J MACK Available in some locations

Annotation:Is he a detective? Is he a ninja? Is he a cartoonist? No he is clueless! He is PJ McGee, telling his traveling father about his adventures at school and home. Ages 8-10

Diary of A Wimpy Kid
Diary of A Wimpy Kid Greg Heffley's Journal By Kinney, Jeff (Book - 2007 ) J KINNEY Available in some locations Holds: 21 on 204 copies

Annotation:The first book in the humorous series about Greg and his life in school, at home and with his friends using journal entries and drawings. Ages 8-13

Doodlebug
Doodlebug A Novel in Doodles By Young, Karen Romano (Book - 2010 ) J YOUNG Available in some locations

Annotation:Dodo's mother gives her a blank notebook, which she uses to chronicle their move and the first days in a new city. Ages 8-10

Dragonbreath
Dragonbreath By Vernon, Ursula (Book - 2009 ) J VERNON Available in some locations Holds: 3 on 72 copies

Annotation:Danny Dragonbreath and his friend Wendell get an up-close underwater tour of the Sargasso Sea from Danny's sea-serpent cousin, encountering giant squid and sharks--and learn about standing up to bullies in the process. Ages 8-12

Ellie McDoodle
Ellie McDoodle Best Friends Fur-ever By Barshaw, Ruth McNally (Book - 2010 ) J BARSHAW Available in some locations Holds: 1 on 20 copies

Annotation:Ellie pet-sits for her neighbor's African grey parrot Alix, about whom she is writing a report, while her family argues over whether to get a cat or a dog, and her little brother accidentally lets Alix out of his cage, all of which is chronicled in Ellie's ever-present sketchbook. Ages 8-10

Herbert's Wormhole
Herbert's Wormhole By Nelson, Peter, 1953- (Book - 2009 ) J NELSON Available in some locations

Annotation:When almost-sixth-grader Alex, a video game fanatic, is forced on a "playdate" with his neighbor Herbert, an inventor, the two travel to the twenty-second century and face off against aliens, who are not as nice as most people think. Ages 8-12

The Homework Machine
The Homework Machine By Gutman, Dan (Book - 2007 ) J GUTMAN Available in some locations

Annotation:Four fifth-grade students--a geek, a class clown, a teacher's pet, and a slacker--as well as their teacher and mothers, each relate events surrounding a computer programmed to complete homework assignments. Ages 9-12

How to Dork your Diary
How to Dork your Diary By Russell, Rachel Renee (Book - 2011 ) J RUSSELL Available in some locations Holds: 9 on 60 copies

Annotation:Nikki Maxwell has been writing in a diary since the start of the school year, and she usually takes it everywhere she goes - so she can't believe it when one morning she can't find it! Ages 8-12

Justin Case
Justin Case School, Drool, and Other Daily Disasters By Vail, Rachel (Book - 2010 ) J VAIL All copies in use. Availability details Holds: 2 on 12 copies

Annotation:Justin didn't get the teacher he wanted, he's not in the same class as his best friend, and his little sister, Elizabeth, is starting kindergarten at his school. Ages 7-10

The Legend of Spud Murphy
The Legend of Spud Murphy By Colfer, Eoin (Book - 2004 ) J COLFER Available in some locations Holds: 2 on 35 copies

Annotation:When their mother starts dropping them off at the library several afternoons a week, nine-year-old William and his brother dread boredom and the overbearing librarian, but they are surprised at how things turn out. Ages 7-10

Let's Pretend This Never Happened
Let's Pretend This Never Happened By Jamie Kelly By Benton, Jim (Book - 2004 ) J DEARDUMBDIA V.1 Available in some locations

Annotation:In her diary, middle school student Jamie Kelly describes her life at home and at school, including her attempts to triumph over her nemesis, the beautiful and popular Angeline. Ages 9-12

The Loser List
The Loser List By Kowitt, Holly (Book - 2011 ) J KOWITT Available in some locations Holds: 1 on 16 copies

Annotation:Danny avoids trouble with the bullies by drawing tattoos and graffiti for them, until he's unknowingly drawn into a theft. Age 8-12

Lunch Lady and the Picture Day Peril
Lunch Lady and the Picture Day Peril By Krosoczka, Jarrett (Book - 2012 ) J KROSOCZKA Available in some locations Holds: 4 on 20 copies

Annotation:When eccentric photographer Stefani DePino comes to Thompson Brook to take school pictures in the midst of an acne epidemic, Lunch Lady, Betty, and the Breakfast Bunch learn that Stefani is using them to break into the world of high fashion. Ages 7-10

Middle School Is Worse Than Meatloaf
Middle School Is Worse Than Meatloaf A Year Told Through Stuff By Holm, Jennifer L. (Book - 2007 ) J HOLM Available in some locations

Annotation:Told entirely through notes, grocery receipts, and a vast array of other items, this story follows Ginny as she accidentally dyes her hair pink, throws live frogs in class, and loses the lead role in ballet to her ex-best friend. Ages 9-12

Otis Dooda
Otis Dooda Strange but True By Potter, Ellen, 1963- (Book - 2013 ) J POTTER Available in some locations

Annotation:Everyday, nine-year-old Otis Dooda confronts a series of zany changes when his father's new job prompts the family's move to a New York City apartment, where Otis is cursed by a guy in a potted plant in their apartment building lobby and has to team up with a new friend and a gassy miniature horse to break the curse. Ages 8-12

The Popularity Papers
The Popularity Papers Research for the Social Improvement and General Betterment of Lydia Goldblatt & Julie Graham-Chang By Ignatow, Amy (Book - 2010 ) J IGNATOW Available in some locations Holds: 3 on 86 copies

Annotation:Two best friends embark on a project to study the behavior and taste of the popular girls at their elementary school so that by the time they get to middle school they too will be in the right crowd. Ages: 10-13

Prince of Underwhere
Prince of Underwhere By Hale, Bruce (Book - 2008 ) J HALE Available in some locations

Annotation:When Zeke, his twin sister Stephanie, their neighbor Hector, and Hector's cat Fitz slide into the world of Underwhere, Zeke is hailed as a prince who will, according to an ancient prophecy, free the Undies from the evil UnderLord's rule by finding and destroying his throne. Ages 8-12

Regarding the Fountain
Regarding the Fountain A Tale, in Letters, of Liars and Leaks By Klise, Kate (Book - 1999 ) J KLISE Available in some locations Holds: 3 on 75 copies

Annotation:When the principal asks a fifth-grader to write a letter regarding the purchase of a new drinking fountain for their school, he finds that all sorts of chaos results. Ages 9-12

Revenge of the Itty-bitty Brothers
Revenge of the Itty-bitty Brothers By Oliver, Lin (Book - 2009 ) J OLIVER Available in some locations

Annotation:When Daniel learns to control his shrinking, Pablo, his tiny twin, writes a list of fun things they can do, including riding in a model rocket near the La Brea Tar Pits, which teaches the brothers the importance of sticking together. Ages 8-12

Rule the School
Rule the School By Seegert, Scott (Book - 2011 ) J SEEGERT Available in some locations

Annotation:When one of his experiments makes supervillain Vordak the Incomprehensible younger, he comes out of retirement to launch his latest attempt to defeat Commander Virtue and rule the world, starting with Farding Junior High School. Ages 8-12

Snarf Attack, Underfoodle, and the Secret of Life
Snarf Attack, Underfoodle, and the Secret of Life The Riot Brothers Tell All By Amato, Mary (Book - 2004 ) J AMATO Available in some locations Holds: 3 on 49 copies

Annotation:Keeping themselves entertained is not a problem to Orville and Wilbur Riot as these two mischievous brothers can make an adventure out of the silliest things. Ages 6-9

Spaceheadz
Spaceheadz Book #1 By Scieszka, Jon (Book - 2010 ) J SCIESZKA Available in some locations

Annotation:On his first day at Brooklyn's P.S. 858, fifth-grader Michael K. is teamed with two very strange students, and while he gradually comes to believe they are aliens who need his help, he has trouble convincing anyone else of the truth. Ages 7-11

Stanford Wong Flunks Big-time
Stanford Wong Flunks Big-time By Yee, Lisa (Book - 2005 ) J YEE Available in some locations

Annotation:After flunking sixth-grade English, basketball prodigy Stanford Wong must struggle to pass his summer-school class, keep his failure a secret from his friends, and satisy his academically demanding father. Ages 9-12

Stink and the Midnight Zombie Walk
Stink and the Midnight Zombie Walk By McDonald, Megan (Book - 2012 ) J MCDONALD Available in some locations

Annotation:Stink and his friends try to earn money to buy the latest book in the Nightmare on Zombie Street series and go to the book release party. Ages 5-8

Trash Crisis on Earth
Trash Crisis on Earth By Stadler, Alexander (Book - 2008 ) J STADLER Available in some locations

Annotation:Eight-year-old Julian Rodriguez escapes from the crisis of the moment (being sent to his room for not taking out the trash) by imagining he's a space warrior. Ages 6-9

Villain's Lair
Villain's Lair By Van Draanen, Wendelin (Book - 2009 ) J VAN DRAANEN Available in some locations

Annotation:Thirteen-year-old Dave and his sidekick, a talking gecko named Sticky, try to retrieve an ancient Aztec powerband and its magic ingots from the evil villain, Damien Black. Ages: 9-12

Wonkenstein
Wonkenstein By Skye, Obert (Book - 2011 ) J SKYE Available in some locations Holds: 1 on 26 copies

Annotation:Rob's closet is full of junk and books but one day there is more than the unread books; a book character. It's a cross from two books he has tried to ignore and brings Rob a lot of grief or is it funny situations? Ages 8-12

Description

More funny stories for the less eager readers about school and family, told through journal entries, drawings, letters, and more (ages 9-12)


English
Topic Guide

Powered by BiblioCommons.
app06 Version Arkelstorp Last updated 2014/10/16 16:30