After the End

After the End

eBook - 2014 | First edition
Average Rating:
Rate this:
16
1
1
Michael Grant's Gone series meets M. Night Shyamalan's The Village in this riveting story of one girl's journey to save the very people who have lied to her for her entire life. Amy Plum, internationally bestselling author of the Die for Me series, delivers a fast-paced adventure perfect for fans of Marie Lu and Robison Wells. Juneau grew up fearing the outside world. The elders told her that beyond the borders of their land in the Alaskan wilderness, nuclear war had destroyed everything. But when Juneau returns from a hunting trip one day and discovers her people have been abducted, she sets off to find them. And leaving the boundaries for the very first time, she learns the horrifying truth: World War III never happened. Nothing was destroyed. Everything she'd ever been taught was a lie. As Juneau comes to terms with an unfathomable deception, she is forced to survive in a completely foreign world, using only the skills and abilities she developed in the wild. But while she's struggling to rescue her friends and family, someone else is after her. Someone who knows the extraordinary truth about her secret past.
Publisher: New York : HarperTeen, c2014
Edition: First edition
ISBN: 9780062225627 (electronic bk.)
0062225626 (electronic bk.)
Branch Call Number: eBOOK FIC PLUM
Characteristics: 1 online resource

Opinion

From Library Staff

World War III has left the world ravaged by nuclear radiation. A lucky few escaped to the Alaskan wilderness. They've survived for the last thirty years by living off the land. When Juneau returns from a hunting trip to discover that everyone in her clan has vanished, she sets off to find them. L... Read More »

The few people who escaped the ravages of World War III have survived for the last thirty years by living off the land. When Juneau’s clan vanishes, she sets off to find them, and learns something horrifying: There never was a war. Cities were never destroyed. The world is intact. Everything was ... Read More »


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
2
21221018293347
Feb 04, 2018

Finished book one, and book two is waiting on my bedside table. An enjoyable read, with chapters alternating between Miles and Juneau. Interesting characters interacting with the main characters, each with their own interest in finding Juneau as she looks for her clan. Well written and engaging.

g
geniegu859
Aug 20, 2017

Interesting plot, great characters, and hard to put down action packed story. The climatic ending assures the reader must get the sequel, "Until the Beginning". I loved this book!

toyreilp Aug 10, 2017

Awesome book!!

GCPL_Teen Jul 26, 2017

This dystopian novel is very similar to others of its genre. While it is not unique, the characters are interesting and there is action and adventure.

i
IV27HUjg
Jul 09, 2016

Riveting story? After the apocalypse, 30 years? What a mishmash of fantasy, childish silliness. 30 years & some magical stone develops? Total waste of my time. Gave up by the time the two fantastics met.

d
Daniee_
Aug 18, 2015

An enjoyable read. The characters go through many adventures together and found them quite fascinating. This book is a great start to a series.

b
blue_dog_7466
Jun 16, 2015

Overall, a great book. Pulled me in and made me want to keep reading!

a
AliJan
May 13, 2015

I found this book to be engaging - it falls neatly into the genre of Teen distopian fiction. I liked the characters and I liked hearing from both of their perspectives. The premise allows for all sorts of adventures. I had no idea it was part of a series until the end, but I will want to keep reading this story!

MissAnnie Mar 03, 2015

Fresh, intriguing and suspenseful.

loonylovesgood Aug 12, 2014

Had no idea this was a series until that ending! Now I can't wait for the second book to come out. What a strange but enjoyable book.

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability
w
waltzingechidna
Jun 21, 2014

waltzingechidna thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

Quotes

Add a Quote
p
PotentialOnWings
Jul 01, 2014

"Beneath me lies a city. It is not in ruins. It isn’t decimated by war and poisoned by radiation. It is a thriving city with massive glass buildings glistening in the late-afternoon sun. This is not a postapocalyptic wasteland."

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at KCLS

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top