Letters to the Lost

Letters to the Lost

eBook - 2015
Average Rating:
9
Rate this:
"An accomplished novel from a talented writer, Letters to the Lost is the kind of love story that will sweep you away from the very first page. Iona Grey's prose is warm, evocative, and immediately engaging; her characters become so real you can't bear to let them go. Late on a frozen February evening, a young woman is running through the streets of London. Having fled from her abusive boyfriend and with nowhere to go, Jess stumbles onto a forgotten lane where a small, clearly unlived in old house offers her best chance of shelter for the night. The next morning, a mysterious letter arrives and when she can't help but open it, she finds herself drawn inexorably into the story of two lovers from another time. In London 1942, Stella meets Dan, a US airman, quite by accident, but there is no denying the impossible, unstoppable love that draws them together. Dan is a B-17 pilot flying his bomber into Europe from a British airbase; his odds of survival at one in five. The odds are stacked against the pair; the one thing they hold onto is the letters they write to each other. Fate is unkind and they are separated by decades and continents. In the present, Jess becomes determined to find out what happened to them. Her hope--inspired by a love so powerful it spans a lifetime--will lead her to find a startling redemption in her own life in a powerfully moving novel perfect for fans of Sarah Jio and Kate Morton"-- Provided by publisher.
"An accomplished novel from a talented writer, Letters to the Lost is a stunning, emotional love story. Iona Grey's prose is warm, evocative, and immediately engaging; her characters become so real you can't bear to let them go. I promised to love you forever, in a time when I didn't know if I'd live to see the start of another week. Now it looks like forever is finally running out. I never stopped loving you. I tried, for the sake of my own sanity, but I never even got close, and I never stopped hoping either. Late on a frozen February evening, a young woman is running through the streets of London. Having fled from her abusive boyfriend and with nowhere to go, Jess stumbles onto a forgotten lane where a small, clearly unlived in old house offers her best chance of shelter for the night. The next morning, a mysterious letter arrives and when she can't help but open it, she finds herself drawn inexorably into the story of two lovers from another time. In London 1942, Stella meets Dan, a US airman, quite by accident, but there is no denying the impossible, unstoppable attraction that draws them together. Dan is a B-17 pilot flying his bomber into Europe from a British airbase; his odds of survival are one in five. In the midst of such uncertainty, the one thing they hold onto is the letters they write to each other. Fate is unkind and they are separated by decades and continents. In the present, Jess becomes determined to find out what happened to them. Her hope--inspired by a love so powerful it spans a lifetime--will lead her to find a startling redemption in her own life in this powerfully moving novel. "-- Provided by publisher.
Publisher: New York : Thomas Dunne Books, 2015
ISBN: 9781466874688 electronic bk
1466874686 electronic bk
Branch Call Number: eBOOK FIC GREY
Characteristics: 1 online resource

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

CRRL_MegRaymond Jul 25, 2017

A young woman fleeing an abusive boyfriend takes refuge in an abandoned house. She finds a love letter from 1942, and is determined to find out if they had a “happily ever after”.

b
belalin
Jan 03, 2017

This is a long but very well written book and an extremely engaging story. It is very hard to put down so thank goodness there is the occasional part that is a bit slow. The story is not very realistic - too many good luck coincidences - life just isn't like that. It is not a profound, thought provoking book nor is very informative about the period in which it takes place. Nonetheless worth reading though: a good story, well written.

b
becker
Dec 28, 2016

A very nice story about a wartime romance. I found it a bit slow at times but enjoyed the story very much.

g
greenacres
Mar 04, 2016

A romance story with some of it being told through letters between a WWII American pilot and his married lover. Many topics are covered here from spousal abuse, rape, the homeless ...but thankfully also a story about love.

m
Microbes
Nov 22, 2015

Wonderful book! I hope the author will write more.

microbes

s
Susan1066
Sep 07, 2015

Superb!

_
_Amazon_
Jul 19, 2015

A fantastic read from a new favorite author. I wanted to savor every chapter of this book and make it last. Thoroughly enjoyable!

1
1Mamiemay
Jun 20, 2015

Enveloped immediately in the characters and the plot; the romance; the suspense. Ms Grey writes with an authentic tone from describing WWII bombing missions over Germany to sweet hot sex!

r
ready2read
Jun 19, 2015

I found this novel to be a lovely and moving WW2 story, with interesting characters that left me with lots to think about even after the last page. This book was written in the "dual narrative style" that has recently been made very popular by authors like Kate Morton. As the story opens, a young lady (in the near present) is fleeing from an abusive boyfriend when she happens upon a small neglected house in London.
The house is the bond between the new and old story after she finds an old box ful of letters. The story of Stella (past) and Jess (present) share many similarities both bad - overbearing, abusive partners - and good - possibilities of love. The book successfully depicts many fragile truths about life, for example, a U.S airman who has a 70% chance of NOT surviving his tour of duty. Perfect for fans of War love stories.

ww

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at KCLS

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top