Lost and Gone Forever

Lost and Gone Forever

eBook - 2016
Average Rating:
Rate this:
Many changes have happened to the Murder Squad. Rash actions have cost Sergeant Nevil Hammersmith his job, and in response he has set up his own private detective agency. Inspector Walter Day has been missing for a year, and no one knows where he is--though there is a strong suspicion that Saucy Jack has him. Hammersmith has made finding Day his primary case, and he has company--a pair of bounty hunters, a man and a woman. It is only gradually that he has come to realize that they are not what they seem . . .
Publisher: Penguin Publishing Group, 2016
ISBN: 0698407261 electronic bk
9780698407268 electronic bk
Branch Call Number: eBOOK M GRECIAN
Characteristics: 1 online resource ()


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

Jun 19, 2017

London, 1891. Imagine a detective agency that opens with only one client, and that after a year the proprietor still has just the one client and has no interest in taking on any additional customers.

Also picture a charming couple, one of them (in this case the wife) being subject to such homicidal impulses that her husband has to keep her in restraints at night to prevent her from killing him while he sleeps beside her! This despite the fact that they love each other as much as two such people can. He thinks she is the most beautiful woman he has ever seen, and calls her "dearest heart." She sometimes smiles at him, kisses him, and once calls him "my cabbage."

Finally, for those who like Jack the Ripper stories, you will love this one-- especially "Epilogue 2" which is the very end of the book and which leaves us with a surprising, chilling, and somehow satisfactory conclusion.

Jun 14, 2016

LOST AND GONE FOREVER is the fifth book in Scotland Yard’s Murder Squad series. Author Alex Grecian has once again captured the dark side of Victorian London with an atmospheric setting which only adds to the suspense. In addition, intriguing characters, sharp dialogue, and grisly crimes kept me turning pages. The plot is fast-paced with a few surprises at the end. The Murder Squad books are highly addictive, but in order to fully appreciate the characters and storylines, I recommend starting with the first and (for me) best book in the series, THE YARD, then reading the rest in the order they were published.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further


Subject Headings


Find it at KCLS

To Top