The Mother's Promise

The Mother's Promise

eBook - 2017
Average Rating:
1
Rate this:
Baker & Taylor
A dying single mother reaches out to her oncology nurse and social worker for help protecting her troubled teen daughter, forging a unit that bonds the four women together and challenges them to confront their sharpest fears and secrets. By the best-selling author of The Things We Keep.

McMillan Palgrave

Sally Hepworth novels are "sure to appeal to fans of Jojo Moyes, Jodi Picoult, and Lisa Genova; book clubs will be lining up." —Library Journal (starred review)

All their lives, Alice Stanhope and her daughter, Zoe, have been a family of two, living quietly in Northern California. Zoe has always struggled with crippling social anxiety and her mother has been her constant and fierce protector. With no family to speak of, and the identity of Zoe’s father shrouded in mystery, their team of two works—until it doesn’t. Until Alice gets sick and needs to fight for her life.

Desperate to find stability for Zoe, Alice reaches out to two women who are practically strangers but who are her only hope: Kate, a nurse, and Sonja, a social worker. As the four of them come together, a chain of events is set into motion and all four of them must confront their sharpest fears and secrets—secrets about abandonment, abuse, estrangement, and the deepest longing for family. Imbued with heart and humor in even the most dismal moments, The Mother’s Promise is an unforgettable novel about the unbreakable bonds between mothers and daughters and the new ways in which families are forged.



Baker
& Taylor

A dying single mother reaches out to her oncology nurse and social worker for help protecting her troubled teen daughter, forging a unit that bonds the four women together and challenges them to confront their sharpest fears and secrets.

Publisher: [Place of publication not identified] : Pan Macmillan Australia, 2017
ISBN: 1466889926 (electronic bk.)
9781466889927 (electronic bk.)
1760552291 (electronic bk.)
9781760552299 (electronic bk.)
Branch Call Number: eBOOK FIC HEPWORTH
Characteristics: 1 online resource (300 pages)

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

GarsonLibraryTina Jul 27, 2017

I really enjoyed this book. For the most part, aside from the fact that it was about a mother with cancer, it was a fairly light and enjoyable read. It was light without being "fluff", though. I liked that the story was told from four different character's perspectives: the mother, Alice; her teenage daughter, Zoe; her nurse, Kate; and her social worker, Sonja. The story was realistic and it made me feel as though I was reading about people I could easily know and identify with. And the ending ... well, let's just say, there were definite tears. A very enjoyable read!

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at KCLS

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top