Death Below Stairs

Death Below Stairs

Book - 2018 | First edition
Average Rating:
Rate this:
4
Highly sought-after young cook Kat Holloway takes a position in a Mayfair mansion and soon finds herself immersed in the odd household of Lord Rankin. Kat is unbothered by the family's eccentricities as long as they stay away from her kitchen, but trouble finds its way below stairs when her young Irish assistant is murdered. Intent on discovering who killed the helpless kitchen maid, Kat turns to the ever-capable Daniel McAdam, who is certainly much more than the charming delivery man he pretends to be. Along with the assistance of Lord Rankin's unconventional sister-in-law and a mathematical genius, Kat and Daniel discover that the household murder was the barest tip of a plot rife with danger and treason--one that's a threat to Queen Victoria herself.--Provided by Publisher.
Publisher: New York : Berkley Prime Crime, 2018
Edition: First edition
ISBN: 9780399585517 (trade paperback)
0399585516 (trade paperback)
Branch Call Number: M ASHLEY
Characteristics: 329 pages ; 21 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

t
thebritlass
Oct 04, 2018

Another great debut for a promising Victorian mystery series. I particularly enjoyed the characterization and both setting and plot are well-developed. Looking forward to book 2.

l
lbeast
Jun 27, 2018

It's a mystery for women. The actual mystery takes second place to the romantic desires of the main character, who is a cook in a Victorian household in London. I could barely get through it, and kept reading only because my other books that I had reserved weren't yet ready at the library.

s
StoryAddict
Feb 16, 2018

Great sense of place (Victorian London). Well-drawn and intriguing main characters, even if, particularly the women, are unusually independent and/or eccentric for their era. Steadily advancing plot with good dialogue. A murder, a political plot, a bit of romance, and a little menu chatter for foodies. Readers who enjoy 'Upstairs Downstairs' and 'Downton Abbey' will likely gobble this title and look forward to the next in the series.

d
deependgirl
Feb 04, 2018

Great first book of a series! Highly recommend especially if you enjoy mysteries set in the Victorian era. I love that it’s a “upstairs downstairs” theme and also that our amateur detective is a cook! I have enjoyed many aristocratic upperclass rich ladies and gentlemen regency and Victorian era mysteries... it’s a very good idea to make this mostly the downstairs world. Bit of a switch that makes sense and refreshing. I can’t wait to read the next book.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at KCLS

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top