Emerald Labyrinth

Emerald Labyrinth

A Scientist's Adventures in the Jungles of the Congo

Book - 2018
Average Rating:
Rate this:
"Emerald Labyrinth is a scientist and adventurer's chronicle of years exploring the rainforests of sub-Saharan Africa. The richly varied habitats of the Democratic Republic of the Congo offer a wealth of animal, plant, chemical, and medical discoveries. But the country also has a deeply troubled colonial past and a complicated political present. Author Eli Greenbaum is a leading expert in sub-Saharan herpetology--snakes, lizards, and frogs--who brings a sense of wonder to the question of how science works in the twenty-first century. Along the way he comes face to face with spitting cobras, silverback mountain gorillas, wild elephants, and the teenaged armies of AK-47-toting fighters engaged in the continent's longest-running war. As a bellwether of the climate and biodiversity crises now facing the planet, the Congo holds the key to our planet's future. Writing in the tradition of books like The Lost City of Z, Greenbaum seeks out the creatures struggling to survive in a war-torn, environmentally threatened country. Emerald Labyrinth is an extraordinary book about the enormous challenges and hard-won satisfactions of doing science in one of the least known, least hospitable places on earth."--Amazon.com.
Publisher: Lebanon, NH : ForeEdge, an imprint of University Press of New England, [2018]
ISBN: 1512600970 paperback
9781512600971 paperback
Branch Call Number: 591.709672 GRE
Characteristics: xv, 329 pages, 16 unnumbered pages of plates : illustrations (some color), maps ; 23 cm


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

Feb 22, 2018

Detailed book about the extreme diversity of wildlife in DR Congo. Also interspersed with the history of the region and why nature is at risk not just due to irresponsible development but also at the hands of an ongoing civil war, one of the players of which is the Lord's Resistance Army led by Joseph Kony who sees nothing wrong with employing child soldiers. The book is a warning not just to protect biodiversity in Africa but around the world.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at KCLS

To Top