Kingdom of Ash

Kingdom of Ash

A Throne of Glass Novel

Book - 2018
Average Rating:
Rate this:
19
5
2
Aelin has risked everything to save her people-but at a tremendous cost. Locked within an iron coffin by the Queen of the Fae, Aelin must draw upon her fiery will as she endures months of torture. Aware that yielding to Maeve will doom those she loves keeps her from breaking, though her resolve begins to unravel with each passing day… With Aelin captured, Aedion and Lysandra remain the last line of defense to protect Terrasen from utter destruction. Yet they soon realize that the many allies they've gathered to battle Erawan's hordes might not be enough to save them. Scattered across the continent and racing against time, Chaol, Manon, and Dorian are forced to forge their own paths to meet their fates. Hanging in the balance is any hope of salvation-and a better world. And across the sea, his companions unwavering beside him, Rowan hunts to find his captured wife and queen-before she is lost to him forever. As the threads of fate weave together at last, all must fight, if they are to have a chance at a future. Some bonds will grow even deeper, while others will be severed forever in the explosive final chapter of the Throne of Glass series.
Publisher: New York : Bloomsbury, 2018
ISBN: 9781619636101 (hardcover)
1619636107 (hardcover)
Branch Call Number: Y MAAS
Characteristics: 984 pages : map ; 25 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
t
TEENREVIEWBOARD
Jan 17, 2019

I absolutely have no words to describe this... words won't do it justice. This book was painful to read not because it was bad, but because it was so beautifully written. Descriptions, settings and everything was so vivid one could be right there in the scene, which I loved. The only thing I was uncomfortable with was the outcome, which seemed almost too "preserved" as if the author couldn't make up her mind. But all in all, I am glad to have walked this path with other Maas fans to this very end. A definite recommend!! 5/5. @Siri of the Hamilton Public Library Teen Review Board

l
Linyarai
Jan 17, 2019

I was a bit lost at first, too many characters were thrown at me and it had been too long since I had read the previous books, so I had to Google the plots of the rest of the series. After that this book flew by, it was a little bit predictable but still really exciting. More adult content then I remember previously, though.

PimaLib_ChristineR Jan 09, 2019

This book is good. Really good. Like you wouldn't know the person who wrote the first one and this one were the same person. Maas has really backed off on the uncomfortably graphic sex scenes/discussions and there are only two--count 'em TWO-- episodes of toes being curled. Instead Maas has played to her strong suit here giving us nearly a thousand pages of action. If I had to make a comparison, I would say that it reminded me of Tolkien's Return of the King. There are battles on every front and the action is non-stop. Aelin has become defined by her actions instead of being defined as one thing while she does another. In fact, nearly all of the characters have developed nicely (other than Rowan, who still seems to be a warrior there to "worship" Aelin). These last two books in this series (Kingdom of Ash and Tower of Dawn) have renewed my hope in Maas when she is given time and a good editor to work with.

d
ddb883
Jan 07, 2019

Gondor...uh...I mean...Terrasen calls for aid! Light the fires!

There was a lot I loved in this book. And there was a lot that was a direct rip off of other, better series. Like the Black Jewels books which Maas just cannot stop stealing from.

Overall, a mostly satisfying end to an epic series. I love Chaol. And I love Manon and pretty much anything to do with the Thirteen and the Crochans.
Everyone else is...fine.

It was 400 pages too long, and most of that had to do with unnecessary and too neat pairings that Maas forced on us in "Empire of Storms" then had to be tortured and driven apart and then right back together for...drama? I guess?
Ugh.

Chapel_Hill_MarthaW Jan 06, 2019

This series is: too long; possibly too complicated; full of too many subplots; and yet, still, totally unputdownable. I hate that word, but it's totally accurate in this case. I found this to be a completely satisfying conclusion to the series that I think fans will probably really like, and I -- incredibly -- found myself wanting to go back and re-read the whole thing from start to finish now that it's complete. I don't think I actually will -- because who has time for that? -- but the temptation was still strong. Imaginative, escapist fun.

IndyPL_ShelbyP Dec 27, 2018

If you've read and enjoyed the rest of this series than you'll definitely enjoy reading this book. I love SJM's world building and love reading about her awesome characters. I had many things to be satisfied with (Lorcan & Elide!) and there were some pretty epic moments that I loved. However, there were a lot of technical problems with this book and it seemed like SJM had a hard time deciding how to end her series. My biggest gripe has to be her timeline. The whole series apparently takes place in just one year and it's just not feasible to me. SO MUCH HAPPENS in this series and some aspects would be more believable if the story took place over the course of a few years. There are also issues with timing in KoA itself because it's not clear off the bat with how much time has passed between Empire of Storms and the events that we keep reading about in each POV. I loved the ride. It's a great series but it's just a shame there's a lot of clumsy bits throughout.

p
Proctor92
Dec 19, 2018

This book was a headache to get through. Most of the book is just pages of needless detail about what EACH character is doing at every moment. If I never read descriptions of eye color, tattoos, or mates again it'll be too soon. I made a drinking game out of it... Honestly, I almost gave up 40 pages before it was over because I couldn't take it anymore. SJM really didn't want this one to end, and it shows. I have so many complaints, but I suppose this will suffice.

OPL_KrisC Dec 19, 2018

An epic conclusion to Sarah J. Maas's Throne of Glass series. Although the book starts off a little slow, the battle scenes are action-packed and guaranteed to make you shed a tear or two. For fans of Kristin Cashore and Leigh Bardugo.

DBRL_BriannaD Dec 11, 2018

If you've stuck with Sarah J. Maas through this whole series, you will absolutely enjoy Kingdom of Ash. While I admit I was a bit dubious when I first started Throne of Glass, the books quickly grew on me. This is a completely satisfying conclusion! Without spoiling anything, I can tell you I was impressed at the tone of this book, and the way it was perfectly balanced between despair and hope. A great book and a great series, and I'm looking forward to seeing what Maas does next.

k
KWhite190
Dec 03, 2018

What a great conclusion to a stunning series. This is definitely Maas's masterpiece. I'm still having a hard time letting Aelin go, as well as Rowan, Chaol, Dorian, Manon, Lysandra, Aedion and everyone else. At least there is still the Court of Thorns and Roses series, but I believe the next book is the last of that series as well. Please Sarah, continue to write awesome Fae books, I can't handle this withdrawal!

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability
OPL_KrisC Dec 19, 2018

OPL_KrisC thinks this title is suitable for 14 years and over

r
R002
Nov 13, 2018

R002 thinks this title is suitable for 15 years and over

b
Bookbirdy
Oct 23, 2018

Bookbirdy thinks this title is suitable for 16 years and over

b
brianjgilbert
Oct 14, 2018

brianjgilbert thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

r
red_wildfowl_5
Feb 14, 2018

red_wildfowl_5 thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 71 and 1

Quotes

Add a Quote
m
mandyozz
Nov 17, 2018

And far away, across the snow-covered mountains, on a barren plain before the ruins of a once-great city, a flower began to bloom.

m
mandyozz
Nov 17, 2018

Once upon a time, in a land long since burned to ash, there lived a young princess who loved her kingdom …

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at KCLS

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top