Death Note

Death Note

Vol. 1, Boredom

Book - 2005
Average Rating:
17
10
3
 …
Rate this:
Light tests the boundaries of the Death Note's powers as L and the police begin to close in. Luckily Light's father is the head of the Japanese National Police Agency and leaves vital information about the case lying around the house. With access to his father's files, Light can keep one step ahead of the authorities. But who is the strange man following him, and how can Light guard against enemies whose names he doesn't know?
Publisher: San Francisco : Viz Media, c2005
Edition: Shonen Jump advanced graphic novel ed
ISBN: 9781421501680 (pbk.)
1421501686 (pbk.)
Branch Call Number: YGN OHBA V.1
Characteristics: 178 p. ; hiefly bill. ; 19 cm
Additional Contributors: Rolf, Pookie
Obata, Takeshi 1969-
Alternative Title: Boredom
Deathnote. Vol. 1, Boredom

Opinion

From Library Staff

When Light Yagami finds a notebook that causes the death of any human whose name is written in it, he decides to use it to rid the world of evil. But as the death toll rises, legendary detective L is assigned to investigate, and Light’s plan gets complicated.


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

c
Citizen92116
Feb 15, 2017

An interesting read; I highly recommend it.
This is essentially my gateway into manga but not necessarily comics.

The concept is novel and surprisingly smart.
Just when I think the story is going to coast, a new element is introduced and entices me to read further.

The only complaint I have is that I can tell this is for an adolescent or young-adult audience only by the pacing of some of the storytelling elements.

I'm looking forward to reading the next volumes.

y
yanhe
Aug 22, 2016

In my opinion, this wasn't the best manga I have ever read. It's just not my type. I mean, I guess the plot was O.K., but I really don't see what's so interesting about the story. If you don't want to read about a man who murders people of his own will, I suggest you look somewhere else

2
2kool4skool
Jun 15, 2015

This manga series is crazily good, wow. It is absolutely thrilling, well-drawn, definitely worth a read.

m
Mark_Daly
Apr 17, 2014

Comics readers who enjoyed Y: THE LAST MAN and EX MACHINA may also appreciate this tightly plotted thriller. So might adolescents of all stripes, since it offers one of the all-time power fantasies: a high school student gains the supernatural power to kill virtually anyone in the world, at a distance and anonymously, with almost no risk of discovery. The rules governing the use of the Death Note are arbitrary and absurd, but the author consistently generates momentum and narrative tension from these self-imposed constraints. Be forewarned that this is a dark journey, as readers are invited to sympathize with the megalomaniacal thinking (and, let's face it, misogyny) of a cold-blooded killer.

s
SuperJay
Jul 13, 2013

I give it high praise! Very enjoyable...

Ólive Jul 24, 2012

this is THE BEST manga i have ever read! i might even go as far as saying this is the best thing i have EVER read. If you are looking for a good manga then this is EXACTLY what you're looking for! it doesnt get any better then this. Everything about this book is just AMAZING!!!!! I could spend forever writing all the amazing things about this manga series but instead i'll just say this: READ IT! It will not let you down! (but i can almost guarantee that you're favorite charecter will die, just a warning since in the end there are very few charecters that live)

Rinve Jul 23, 2012

Interesting Manga. The series is short but I love it ! Its awesome ! :)

darkph0enix13 Jul 23, 2012

The best manga i have ever read! i am so in love with light yagami!!

Bluebird1298 Jun 25, 2012

Death Note is one of the few mangas out there that has caught my attention. Brilliant story plot great action and has dark ideas. I cannot describe how flawless Light Yagami's genius plans are.

2
23305011130743
May 06, 2012

I hate this book

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability

r
rbjacobs
Jan 01, 2015

rbjacobs thinks this title is suitable for All Ages

b
Blue_Shark_101
Sep 16, 2014

Blue_Shark_101 thinks this title is suitable for 15 years and over

s
SuperJay
Jul 13, 2013

SuperJay thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 12 and 60

r
rebecca10
Feb 20, 2013

rebecca10 thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

t
Taliah21
Feb 17, 2013

Taliah21 thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

Ólive Jul 24, 2012

Ólive thinks this title is suitable for 14 years and over

darkph0enix13 Jul 23, 2012

darkph0enix13 thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

d
dilsha21
Apr 23, 2012

dilsha21 thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

d
Dr_Inferno
Mar 25, 2012

Dr_Inferno thinks this title is suitable for 15 years and over

m
Monsoon_Girl
Jan 18, 2012

Monsoon_Girl thinks this title is suitable for 12 years and over

Quotes

Add a Quote

Ólive Jul 24, 2012

“For me… apples are like cigarettes and liquor for humans. If I’m deprived I go into withdrawals.” ~ Ryu

darkph0enix13 Jul 23, 2012

“For me… apples are like cigarettes and liquor for humans. If I’m deprived I go into withdrawals.”
~ Ryuk

d
dilsha21
Apr 23, 2012

Why did I drop it? Because I was bored, that's why.
- Ryuk the Shinigami

Summary

Add a Summary

Ólive Jul 24, 2012

Author Tsugumi Ohba and artist Takeshi Obata join forces in Death Note, in which a klutzy Shinigami demon drops his "death notebook" in the human world and has to go fetch it, causing unimaginable chaos. Helping restore the balance (well, eventually) is a bored 17-year-old boy called Light, who picks up the lost notebook and finds himself permanently bound to the demon. It's a highly entertaining, teenage take on the desire to control—or at least understand—life and death

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at KCLS

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top