The  Complete Novels

The Complete Novels

Book - 2006
Average Rating:
Rate this:
Now in Penguin Classicsaa treasure trove of Jane Austenas novels Few novelists have conveyed the subtleties and nuances of their own social milieu with the wit and insight of Jane Austen. Here in one volume are her seven great novels: "Sense and Sensibility, Pride and Prejudice, Mansfield Park, Emma, Northanger Abbey, Persuasion," and "Lady Susan." Through her vivacious and spirited heroines and their circle, Austen vividly portrays English middle-class life as the eighteenth century came to a close and the nineteenth century began. Each of the novels is a love story and a story about marriageamarriage for love, for financial security, for social status. But they are not romances; ironic, comic, and wise, they are masterly evocations of the society Jane Austen observed. This beautiful volume covers the literary career of one of Englandas finest prose stylists of any century. aThese modern editions are to be strongly recommended.a aBrian Southam, The Jane Austen Society
Publisher: New York : Penguin Books, 2006
ISBN: 9780143039501 (pbk.)
0143039504 (pbk.)
Branch Call Number: FIC AUSTEN
Characteristics: xiii, 1278 p. ; 24 cm


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further


Subject Headings

No similar edition of this title was found at KCLS.

Try searching for The Complete Novels to see if KCLS owns related versions of the work.

To Top